Interesting cricket facts about MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni has created and broken multiple records as a batsman, wicketkeeper and the captain of the Indian cricket team. Out of those, there are certain cricket facts related to him that are unique and amazes us a lot. Let’s have a quick look at such interesting facts of MS Dhoni as the captain of the Indian team.


We can call it a beginner’s luck or his leadership capabilities, MS Dhoni as a captain in his every first series has never disappointed us with the result.


1st T20 World Cup series- Won

He led India to the ICC World Twenty 20 in South Africa, with a victory over arch-rivals Pakistan in an intensely fought final in September 2007, and became the second Indian captain to have won a World Cup in any form of cricket, after Kapil Dev.


1st ODI World Cup series - Won

Under Dhoni's captaincy, India won the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup. India played their final against Sri Lanka, chasing 275 runs. Dhoni scored 91 not out off 79 balls handing India the victory for which he was awarded the Man of the Match.


1st Asia Cup - Won

The 2010 Asia Cup was the tenth edition of the Asia Cup cricket tournament, which was held in Sri Lanka in June 2010. India defeated Sri Lanka by 81 runs in the final to win a record 5th Asia Cup title.


1st Triangular Series - Won

The 2007–08 edition of the Commonwealth Bank Series was a One Day International cricket tournament held in Australia. It involves the national teams of Australia, India and Sri Lanka. India under the leadership of Dhoni won the series with a 2–0 sweep of the hosts in the final series.


1st Test series - Won

After taking up the Test captaincy in 2008, he led the Indian team to series wins in New Zealand by 1-0 in three-match test series in 2009. 1st Bilateral series - Won He took over the ODI captaincy from Rahul Dravid in 2007 and led the team to its first-ever bilateral ODI series wins in Sri Lanka. India won the 5-match series by 3–2 and Dhoni was awarded the Player of the series award.


1st Champions League - Won

The 2010 Champions League Twenty20 was the second edition of the Champions League Twenty20, an international Twenty20 cricket tournament. The tournament, which was held from 10 to 26 September 2010 in South Africa, featured 10 domestic Twenty20 teams from India, Australia, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, the West Indies and South Africa. The Chennai Super Kings led by Dhoni, emerged the winners of the tournament, defeating the Warriors in the final.


2nd Champions Trophy - Won

Under his captaincy, in June 2013, when India defeated England in the final of the Champions Trophy in England, Dhoni became the first captain to win all three ICC limited-overs trophies (World Cup, Champions Trophy and the World Twenty20).


India Vs Sri Lanka Test Series 2017 in India

The first time it happened in a cricket match in India that the first 19 wickets taken by Indian bowlers involved no spinner. It included the 1st Test and the 1st inning of the 2nd Test.

- Written by Harshit Aggarwal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *